Dear John

I thought that I am too old for romantic love stories of young adults until the day I started reading Dear John by Nicholas Sparks. I finished the first 120 pages in one sitting (while getting my hair cut) and read on right until the end within one week. Now, that is satisfying, considering that I had been going through a bout of book drought for the past four months.

I usually do not buy books by authors who have published a string of books, for example, Jodi Picoult, Nicholas Sparks, Danielle Steele, Stephen King. I have nothing against them and the fact that they have written and published so many books must attest to their capability as a story-teller. It is just a personal preference when I choose not to buy these books. Anyway, Dear John is the first Nicholas Sparks book that I read and I got it from the local community book exchange programme. I am so glad that I picked it, because it rekindled my joy in reading.

As someone who has passed her prime in terms of falling head over heels in love and all the drama of having long-distance relationship, I found Dear John believable and readable. I didn’t smirk at Savannah’s naivety towards love. I didn’t roll my eyes in disbelief when I read about John’s feelings and thoughts towards Savannah. The only part I found a teeny weeny bit annoying is towards the end when John returned to look for the now-married Savannah. But then, it is just how the story develops, and it is just how people are not perfect and even the most perfect romantic love story should have some flaws.

If you are looking for a book to read, and are not at the stage to try something too heavy, try Dear John. Unless you are a skeptic about love, this book should be something to look forward to after a long day at work.

Leave a Reply

