Wild by Cheryl Strayed

I finished reading Cheryl Strayed’s Wild two weeks ago. It’s been a long, long time since I am so into a book. Lying on my bedside table is a tall stack of unfinishables, but within a month’s time, amidst the frantic busyness, I read page after page of Wild.

The most incredible thing about reading Wild is that the prose brings me along on the journey that Cheryl took, hiking the Pacific Crest Trail (commonly known as the PCT) and discovering our own lost. Perhaps one of the reasons I took to this book is a shared sentiment with Cheryl – losing a piece of ourselves after losing someone very close to us. I didn’t take a drastic hiking journey, but I could relate to that feeling of the world closing in. Cheryl wrote incredibly well; the amount of detail is just right without being boring. The flow is intact as the story moves intermittently back and forth between her hike and her memories of the past.

After reading the book, I felt like I have also taken a journey of self-discovery. Initially Wild reminds me of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat Pray Love, but I feel that Wild is more matured and it brings a sense of closure whereas I couldn’t even bring myself to finish reading Eat Pray Love (for some reason).

Have you read Wild? Did you watch the movie? Did you enjoy it as much as I do?

Leave a Reply

