16 Before 2016

The year 2015 is coming to an end. About a week ago, I stumbled upon a goal-setting blog post by Lisa Jacobs – 16 things to do before 2016. It caught my eyes because instead of the usual start-the-new-year-with-a-list thing, this is an end-the-year-with-a-list thing. I decided to jump on the bandwagon.

The main motivation behind my 16 things is to start the year right, hopefully, because most of the times I started off with so much excess baggage from the year before that the resolutions are just items being carried forward from one year to the next. If I manage to strike all 16 off this list, then I would already have achieved something in my goal-setting. So here it goes.

Selina’s 16 Before 2016

#1 Clean up unfinished business.

I have plenty of unfinished business to finish. Top in the list is my research work, followed by the many projects that I started but never gotten around to complete. I definitely will not be able to finish everything before 2016 begins, but I can clear off some in order to begin the year inspired.

#2 Complete Bible reading plan 2015.

I fell far, far behind over the past 3 months. Spending the days without reading the Bible had been a blur… it’s like going on auto-pilot mode. To me, intentional living couldn’t happen without seeking His word first.

#3 Start a brand new reading challenge.

#4 Enjoy my annual wrapping day.

There is this one grand annual gift exchange that my extended family practises, and so I allocate one evening to do all the wrapping.

#5 Sort out my digital storage.

My files are scattered here, there, everywhere. I intend to get them sorted out once and for all.

#6 Update and declutter wardrobe.

Years of being a stay-at-home-mom and a full-time postgrad has turned my wardrobe outdated and plain old functional. Forget about fashion. But my clothes are getting worn out and my old pair of jeans no longer fits, so it’s high time for a wardrobe overhaul. It does not need to be fashionable, but it should be functional.

#7 Rearrange my bookshelves.

I’ve been collecting books for the past seven years or so, and it’s taking up plenty of space in the already limited space of mine. I even gave the annual Big Bad Wolf sale a miss this year, just so that I could get a hang on my book collection. I should be reading, not collecting.

#8 Get back in shape.

I recently discovered Zumba and I am loving it. I always love dance and I have not been keeping in shape since my first pregnancy. It’s time to groove to the beat!

#9 Schedule and perform a year-end review.

I know that I fail miserably in many aspects of my goal-setting in 2015. But what needs to be done, needs to be done.

#10 Launch my blogs and their respective Facebook pages.

#11 Start daily journalling.

This is truly therapeutic and beneficial emotionally and spiritually. I have already started on this one, and it’s no turning back.

#12 Make homemade tomato pasta sauce.

My son loves spaghetti with bolognese sauce and I have always been using the store-bought version. In an effort to eat wholesome food and to make healthier choices, I intend to try homemade sauce.

#13 Catch up with friends.

20151227_184108

#14 Create a 2016 Photography Challenge. 

I did not do justice to the Nikon and Canon DSLR sitting in the dry box.

#15 Create a Recipe binder. 

#16 End 2015 STRONG. Over the course of this year, there has been many times when I wish I had done things differently. Time cannot turn back, and at this time of the year it is best to learn from the past, look forward and charge ahead.

Leave a Reply

