Home Is Where The Heart Is?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Home Turf.”

How I wish that “Home Is Where The Heart Is” is true. Perhaps there is a certain degree of truth to this phrase. A home is where our heart would like to be, after a long day at work. A home is where we can recuperate, whether emotionally or physically. A home is a place where we can call our own, where we can be ourselves, where we can let our guard down. Home is where we spend quality time with loved ones, so most likely our homes are filled with various knick knacks. For me, the five things which makes the house I am living in, my home are:

  1. Books. They are the few earthly possessions which I brought along with me when I moved into my husband’s house after we got married. Since then, I have accumulated more and we are running out of space to keep them. But they are part of me, and I take comfort in knowing that they are around.
  2. Photos of loved ones.
  3. An oven. I would like to say kitchen appliances, because the kitchen is the heart of the home and an empty kitchen would mean an empty heart, no? However, there are just too many appliances in the market nowadays, so if I must narrow it down to one, it would be the oven to bake and fill the home with freshly baked bread or cake.
  4. CDs or any form of music storage.
  5. A musical instrument. Not just for decoration purposes, but to fill the home with beautiful sounds of music, singing, and dancing.

I am currently reading Room by Emma Donaghue, and it strikes me how having been confined to the same room throughout all his life changes the perspective of a five-year-old towards things. To this boy, the room is his home, and all the items in it are his friends.

<a href="https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/home-turf/">Home Turf</a>

4 Comments Add yours

  1. shelly193 says:

    I really like your post! I also love my small, but growing book collection. And, I couldn’t imagine my home without the pictures of my loved ones!

    1. selinareads says:

      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment on my post! Hope that your book collection continues to grow and fill your home with the joy of knowledge.

  2. My list is quite similar to yours! I can see music is important to you as well šŸ™‚

    1. selinareads says:

      Great to know there’s someone who shares similar sentiments with me. Yes, music can even change my perspective! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

