Happy New Year 2015

The new year came and it’s already the second day of 2015. Something unexpected happened, so my schedule was thrown off board. I intended to write a review on my year 2014 in reading, but I didn’t make it. I wanted to reflect on my year 2014, overall, as well as on my writing journey in particular, but I didn’t make it. The unexpected took priority, and it should.

Now that I found some time to write, I guess I’d better do it. My year 2014, in a nutshell:

1. On reading – I pledged to read 12 books on Goodreads, and I exceeded the target by 2 books. However, I must admit that some (almost half) were picture books that I read to my son as bedtime stories. Well, reading something is better than reading nothing, right? This year, I decided to up it by pledging to read 18 books. On top of that, I am being more intentional by having a reading calendar, taking up a reading challenge, participate more actively in Goodreads book clubs and not forgetting, writing about my reading journey here.

2. On writing – I always, always slacked here. It is easier to procrastinate than to really sit down, get my thoughts organized and put them up on the Internet. The result? An ongoing feeling of something being not accomplished (is there a word for this?). I started an editorial calendar a couple of weeks ago and it is working so far. I also signed up for the Blogging 101 course by WordPress. I intend to make this year, a year on which I write. Not just random writing, but intentional writing.

3. On photography – it’s time to take out my camera from the dry box. It’s been years. We have even entered the era of camera with wifi connection. Yet my photography skills was still at beginner’s level. To overcome this, I am starting my own Project 365.

It sounds like a lot of challenges in the pipeline. Will I be overwhelmed? Maybe, most probably. But I have to plan, and to start somewhere.

Here’s to year 2015!

Resolutions

Leave a Reply

