Read: What I Know For Sure

I unwrapped What I Know For Sure by Oprah Winfrey on a chair by the resort’s swimming pool on my birthday. We just checked in for the weekend. Hubby and the children were having fun with water play, so I know that I will have at least 15 minutes of pure reading bliss.

20141220_115543

The book actually sounds very much like Oprah. I could actually hear her voice reading the words in my head as I read the corresponding text. The language, the style, the choice of words, the substance, it’s all undeniably Oprah Winfrey. Did I enjoy it? Yes, otherwise I wouldn’t have been able to finish it in 4 days. Am I inspired by it? Partly, not totally, because there are some points which I beg to differ due to my personal faith. What I do take away from it? A few things which I know for sure, on top of what I already know for sure prior to reading it.

I am going to re-iterate what I have posted before, and add on the new ones.

1. I believe in Christ as my personal Lord and Saviour. In the book, the definition of spirituality is liberal. As a Christian, there are pillars of the faith which we should hold on to and there are other aspects which we can be more flexible. It is important for me to know what these pillars are and to ensure that they are not shaken.

2. I am driven by books. My productivity level actually increased when I started reading again. Whoever said that reading fiction is a waste of time, doesn’t really understand what reading is all about. And on books I totally, absolutely agree with Oprah Winfrey. I found out that there are a number of her critics amongst the circle of readers, but I choose not to stereotype. She loves books, and so do I.

3. My passion for what I do. Many people are puzzled by my choice on my field of specialization in university. Some even questioned if I am doing the right thing. But it was an intentional choice. I chose it not because my parents wanted me to, not because my friends were doing it, and certainly not because I don’t have any other option. I choose it because I want to.

4. The importance of love and connection. Love for our neighbours. Connecting to family, to friends, to everyone who is in our sphere of influence. Be present, because this moment is what I have for sure.

5. Living well is not synonymous with acquiring more. I am in the midst of clearing the clutter which is building up in my living space. Some of it is part and parcel of having young children, but I know that most of what is lying around where I live is my responsibility. I have to be sure of what I need, what makes me truly joyful and what is just simply sapping away my energy by having to dust them every now and then. The books which are overspilling from my bookshelf? They definitely make me joyful. The many bottles of perfume accumulated throughout the years? I don’t need them, a light spritzy spray and the Burberry Weekend are more than sufficient. The list goes on and on. It’s time to take an inventory and start a major spring cleaning.

What I know for sure is that as I continue to grow, my list will continue to evolve. I used to dislike that idea because I wanted the list to be THE list. But now I know it doesn’t have to be.

The photo to the right of the book is of the nearby beach where we had our lunch after we checked out from the resort. It’s called Lover’s Bridge.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

