Tiptoeing Into The Fantasy Genre

I’ll be very, very honest here. The world of the fantasy genre has definitely not been my cup of tea. As much as I love books, I guess I have been too institutionalized to be able to appreciate the Middle-earth, the White Witch and the great powerful ring. I bought the Lord of the Rings trilogy simply because I enjoyed watching the movie and thought that I should read the books. However, I only managed to go as far as page 17, and that’s it. I gave up, ten years ago. I plowed through the first book of the Chronicles of Narnia but couldn’t bring myself to finish the rest. So they are all sitting prettily on my shelf.

That is going to change.

I just found out that J.R.R. Tolkien’s Christian faith was revealed in his writings. I know that C. S. Lewis is Christian and The Chronicles of Narnia has always been associated with Christianity, but I am surprised that The Hobbit carries message about hope and courage to believers as well. As such, I will be adding this category to my 2015 Reading Challenge: A Book by A Christian Author. Now, which one should I pick? Or should I be ambitious and choose all the three books mentioned in this post?

Leave a Reply

