The Storied Life of…

It’s been some time since I read a novel for hours on end. I started reading The Storied Life of AJ Fikry a couple of weeks ago but I took a break from it as I was occupied with my research work and the kids were not feeling well. This afternoon, both of my children were taking their afternoon naps but my daughter did not sleep very soundly. Hence while keeping an eye on her I picked up The Storied Life and continued where I left. And I couldn’t put it down.

I always have a weakness for people who speak eloquently, for characters who could tell book-ish, intelligent, witty jokes (e.g. Lorelai Gilmore of Gilmore Girls). Therefore, I am absolutely smitten by Amelia and AJ. I just love, love this bookstore which AJ owns and runs. It sounds just exactly like one which I would like to have; surrounded by books, live above a bookstore, and getting to read all those new titles just sound too good to be true. Reading about people who love books makes me feel like I am in the company of good, old friends. I am mildly surprised that it is also a love story, nothing corny or cheesy and I like the way that Amelia only pops in for a while in the beginning but she marries AJ towards the middle of the story.

I have yet to finish the book but I am looking forward to bury my nose in it again.

By the way, I am going to pick a day this month to stay up all night just to finish a book – just something random which I would like to do before the end of the year. I have always read about books which made people stay up just to finish them, so I am going to look for one and do just that.

Leave a Reply

