What I Know For Sure

At 33, I am still grappling with many things. Some people claim that they have found their calling, they have got to known what really matters, and they have became certain of who they are or what they want to be. But here I am, still trying to figure things out like a teenager and at times, doubts still creep in on decisions which I made.

On 30th November 2014, I picked up What I Know For Sure by Oprah Winfrey at Kinokuniya Malaysia. I used to watch her shows before I had children; I watched her shows because I liked most of its content and I did it before I had children because I had more time to myself then. Her discussions on books, particularly when she picked Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat Pray Love nudged me to rekindle my love for books and I have not looked back since then. Now, back to the book. Its title made me think; what do I know for sure?

At 33, yes, there are many topics on my life which I still leave for further deliberation. But I know these few for sure:

  • I believe in Christ as my personal Lord and Saviour.
  • I love books. Just simply adore them.
  • I enjoy my scholarly activities, despite the surprised gasps and puzzled looks I get when I tell people that I am doing postgrad research in statistics.

What do you know for sure?

P. S. What I Know For Sure is now on top of my ever growing pile of to-be-read.

Leave a Reply

