Maiden Trip to Subang Jaya Book Exchange

I made my maiden trip to the Subang Jaya Book Exchange cabin last Sunday. It was Father’s Day Sunday, the afternoon was blazing hot and Ian had woke up from his afternoon nap earlier than usual. A perfect time to pay an overdue visit to this community programme. I had been wanting to go, but kept putting it off for 101 excuses. Last week, I made up my mind to just do it. And so I did.

Ian tagged along with me even though he was not feeling very well. Any outing is always a pleasure for him, so why not. There was a story-telling session going on before the book exchange was to start, but Ian was still too young for it (it was recommended for children 4 – 8 years old and Ian is not yet 3). So we drove there with my Charles Dicken’s Great Expectations and A Tale of Two Cities and Jason Wright’s The Wednesday Letters.

After presenting my books for exchange at the counter, the lady in charge presented me with a coupon and told me that I was entitled to three adult fiction. I made my way to the back of the cabin, and I was delighted to find so many gems among the rows of books. I picked up Maya Angelou’s The Heart of a Woman, Annie Proulx’s The Shipping News and The Horse Whisperer by Nicholas Evans. Can’t wait to start reading them. And I am already planning my next trip to the book exchange – this time for children’s books for Ian.

Leave a Reply

