Read: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

In The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, Hazel Grace Lancaster is a sixteen-year-old cancer patient who met Augustus Waters, a seventeen-year-old teenager in a support group at a local church in “the 137th nicest city in America”. The story went on with Hazel and Augustus falling in love with each other, and together they journey to Amsterdam in search of an ending to the book An Imperial Affliction by a Peter Van Houten.

Hazel Grace somehow reminds me of Lorelai Gilmore in Gilmore Girls, for some unknown reason. Both are intelligent, witty and avid readers. Many claimed to have cried while reading The Fault in Our Stars, but I didn’t. I love the conversations between Hazel and Augustus. I love the way the story unfolds, but it didn’t touch me to the point that I would cry buckets. Nevertheless, the story was very well-written with many foreshadowing and I was surprised to find such depth in a young adult fiction (my previous understanding of young adult fiction was Sweet Valley University type). I finished the book within four days, partly because it was relatively easy to read (but worth a re-reading for new insights) and I really wanted to know what happens to Hazel and Augustus in the end.

I would recommend this book to both young and old… the young for them to be inspired by Hazel and Augustus’ wit and courage, the adults for them to remind themselves of sweet innocent love, and the older ones for them to realize that the youth can be matured too.

Cassius: The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars / But in ourselves, that we are underlings.   – Shakespeare

Leave a Reply

