Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri

I read Jhumpa Lahiri‘s works for the first time when I rented The Namesake from the neighbourhood book rental. I fell in love with the book. Although it is about a culture very different from mine, and set in a country very far from the one I live in, the emotions involved is something every person could relate to at a deeper level. The same goes to the collection of short stories, Unaccustomed Earth.

I am not a fan of short stories as I find them inconclusive and lack of the depth which novels take me through. But in Unaccustomed Earth, every sentence counts and every word is carefully chosen to make me think and re-think of the characters’ lives and what they are going through. The theme is similar to The Namesake, on Bengali families who migrated and settled in U.S. and the identity crisis which their children goes through. Some of the short stories are more romantic, and the last one in the collection borders on melodramatic. But overall, this book is a good read and worth the time invested if you are into socio-cultural issues.

For professional reviews, click here and here.

Leave a Reply

