In Charge with Pocketful of Sunshine

Reads: A Woman in Charge – The Life of Hillary Rodham Clinton

This book will be featured in Reads and Beats in several installments, due to its volume and content.

I must first say that I have finished reading this voluminous biography of Hillary Clinton. If you have not heard of this name, it’s time for you to knock yourselves three times on the head and start reading some news.

I wasn’t aware of Mrs Clinton’s capabilities and abilities until recently. I have always known her as the wife of the ex-US President Bill Clinton (who doesn’t?) and mother of Chelsea Clinton. I assumed that she was just the typical woman who happened to marry a charismatic and capable husband. Until I read this biography, I was ignorant of her achievements and her potential to do much to the society. It wasn’t until when I started to watch CNN and got to know of her role now in politics.

Not even halfway through, this book has given me much insight and inspiration on being a person, especially a woman, in this world. Plenty of quotes worth mentioning, and one in particular which really struck me was a line from her mother, “Do you want to be the lead actor in your life, or a minor player who simply reacts to what others think you should say or do?” That’s something for all of us to think about, regardless man or woman.

Beats: Pocketful of Sunshine by Natasha Bedingfield

What better song to sing to when reading such a motivated and inspiring character?

Leave a Reply

