Twenties Girl

When I first saw the title Twenties Girl, I thought that the latest book by Sophie Kinsella was about a girl in her twenties. And so I thought that I must finish reading this book before I hit my thirties, which means that I must accomplish this task within this year. However, it has been my non-written policy that I do not buy chic lits, no matter how highly recommended it is, or no matter how “must-read” it is.  Hence the moment I spotted the book at the neighbourhood rent-a-book shop, I quickly grabbed hold of it and started reading.

Twenties Girl started slow, with an introduction to Lara Lington, the British protagonist who is struggling with her head-hunting firm and at the same time, couldn’t get over the sudden and recent break-up with her boyfriend Josh. And then suddenly she had to attend her great aunt’s Sadie’s funeral but she hardly knows her great-aunt. The plot builds on from there and “Twenties Girl” was actually referring to the girl from the 1920s, and in this story, it is referring to Lara’s Great Aunt Sadie.

The pace of the story builds up towards the middle when an American businessman, Ed Harrison comes into the picture and there were some encounters between Lara and Ed which made me chuckle. Although I do not find the storyline realistic and convincing, I think that Kinsella has written the book well by balancing between the unrealistic with what makes chic lits endearing to me – an insight into our own curiosity. It answers some of the “what-ifs” in our lives, and reminds us that things need not be so straightforward and conforming to the world.

Overall, I would recommend this book to any girl who has once wondered if things would have changed if certains things had been done differently. I would recommend this book to any girl who has doubted their own capability and always look up to the achievement of other girls. But read the book with an open and rational mind.

Here are the links to some of the reviews of the book.

http://www.usatoday.com/life/books/reviews/2009-07-20-kinsella-twenties_N.htm

http://www.ew.com/ew/article/0,,20291193,00.html

Leave a Reply

