The Inheritance of Loss – NYT Review

I am currently reading The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai. Initially I was skeptical about this book since I am usually out of sync with Asian literature. I didn’t dare to take the risk of buying this book despite it topping the bestsellers’ list and being highly recommended by many readers. So I picked it up from the college library instead.

And I have not regretted it.

I will be writing more about the places mentioned and the characters in the book when I have a breather. For the time being, the following is the introductory paragraph from the New York Times Book Review by Pankaj Mishra.

ALTHOUGH it focuses on the fate of a few powerless individuals, Kiran Desai’s extraordinary new novel manages to explore, with intimacy and insight, just about every contemporary international issue: globalization, multiculturalism, economic inequality, fundamentalism and terrorist violence. Despite being set in the mid-1980’s, it seems the best kind of post-9/11 novel.

Leave a Reply

